fr
jeudi 24 novembre 2022

Table ronde Reconstruire un paysage religieux grec

Fondation Hardt
Vandœuvres
2–4 février, 2023

Table ronde 2023, flyer

Reconstruire un paysage religieux grec: dynamiques et approches de terrain

Le paysage religieux est créé par l’inscription dans l’espace des rapports entre humains et forces divines. Dans le territoire, il est matérialisé par un ensemble de lieux sacrés, reliés entre eux par des réseaux de mobilité et de visibilité. Il est aussi imaginé, énoncé et mis en gestes collectivement, par des récits et des rites. Loin d’être figé, il se transforme au fil du temps, comme les constructions, tant mentales que monumentales, dont il se constitue.

Dans l’étude de la religion grecque, le paysage religieux a longtemps été pris en compte sans être désigné comme tel. En tant que notion à part entière, il a fait l’objet d’une attention accrue depuis plus d’une décennie. Sa définition a gagné en substance grâce aux approches théoriques et plusieurs de ses facettes ont été éclairées par des études de cas, portant sur des aires géographiques et des périodes variées.

Reconstruire le paysage religieux d’une cité grecque, dans toute sa complexité, reste toutefois un défi pour la recherche. À la confluence de plusieurs champs disciplinaires, la démarche nécessite la constante confrontation des points de vue les plus divers. Notre table ronde est conçue dans cette optique. Organisée dans le cadre d’un projet consacré à la cité d’Érétrie et à son sanctuaire extra-urbain d’Amarynthos, la rencontre entend notamment ouvrir le débat sur ce cas d’étude précis, avec une visée résolument prospective : afin que les réflexions critiques sur les approches actuelles et les nouvelles orientations et méthodes d’exploration envisagées puissent trouver là un champ d’application direct.

La table ronde comprend trois sessions. La première est consacrée aux sources documentaires, entre textes et données de terrain. La deuxième propose d’observer, à des fins comparatives, des paysages religieux encore vivants ou bien documentés. La troisième session revient sur une question récurrente, celle des rapports entre le religieux et le politique, dans la formation du territoire des cités grecques.

PROGRAMME

Jeudi 2 février


18.00-18.30 Accueil
18.30-19.00 Introduction
19.00-19.45 Keynote lecture. François DE POLIGNAC (École Pratique des Hautes Études, Paris)

 

Vendredi 3 février


Session 1. Le paysage religieux entre sources écrites et données de prospection
Pour reconstituer un paysage religieux, l’idéal est de pouvoir exploiter la complémentarité entre les sources anciennes et les observations de terrain. Mais que faire lorsque les écrits font défaut ? La prospection archéologique est-elle en mesure de pallier cette lacune ? Dans les données collectées selon cette méthode, le religieux semble en effet particulièrement discret. Est-il possible de réorienter les recherches, afin de dépasser les limites imposées par la visibilité réduite des lieux sacrés (en dehors des grands sanctuaires)?
Modérateur Karl REBER, Université de Lausanne

9.00-9.30 Quel paysage religieux en Arcadie sans Pausanias ? Madeleine JOST (Université de Paris Nanterre)

9.30-10.00 The Presence of the Sacred in Central Greece: The Evidence from the Boeotia Survey. John BINTLIFF (Leiden University)

10.00-10.15 Discussion
10.15-10.30 Pause

10.30-11.00 Olympia and its Environs: The Development of a Sacred Landscape in the Light of the Recent Survey. Birgitta EDER (Österreichisches Archäologisches Institut/ÖAW)

11.00-11.30 Kalapodi and the Evolution of a Sacred Landscape in Ancient Phokis. Katja SPORN (Deutsches Archäologisches Institut Athens)

11.30-11.45 Discussion
11.45-13.00 Pause

13.00-13.30 Recognizing Sacred Places in Southern Euboia. Towards a Reconstruction of the Sacred Landscape of Archaic and Classical Karystia. Jan Paul CRIELAARD (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)

13.30-14.00 A Sanctuary within its Landscape: The Eretria Amarynthos Survey Project. Sylvian FACHARD (Université de Lausanne), Angeliki SIMOSI (Éphorie des Antiquités d’Eubée)

14.00-14.45 Discussion finale de la session 1
14.45-15.00 Pause

 

Session 2. Paysages religieux présents et vivants
En polythéisme, les dieux sont omniprésents. Leur ancrage topographique ne laissant souvent que des traces infimes, l’archéologie peine à prendre la mesure du phénomène et à en rendre compte de manière pertinente. La réflexion doit donc se nourrir d’exemples offerts par des sociétés polythéistes contemporaines (ou par des systèmes apparentés, comme le culte des saints dans le christianisme), pour pouvoir ensuite retourner sur le terrain grec avec un regard affiné.
Modérateur Dominique JAILLARD, Université de Genève

15.00-15.30 Les paysages de la baraka: ruines, bornes et mausolées au Maroc. Romain SIMENEL (French National Research Institute for Sustainable Development, New Delhi)

15.30-16.00 Entre la forêt et l’Océan, le temple : le paysage religieux à Puri (Odisha, Inde). Raphaël ROUSSELEAU (Université de Lausanne)

16.00-16.15 Discussion
16.15-16.30 Pause

16.30-17.00 Byzantine Sacred Landscapes on the Move. Fotini KONDYLI (University of Virginia)

17.00-17.30 Late Antique and Medieval Religious Landscapes in the Area of Amarynthos. Myrto VEIKOU (Patras University)

17.30-18.15 Discussion finale de la session 2

 

Samedi 4 février


Session 3. Territoires des cités et paysages religieux
Depuis La naissance de la cité grecque de F. de Polignac, le rôle des sanctuaires dans le processus d’émergence des cités a été soigneusement analysé. En mettant en regard plusieurs cas, dont celui d’Érétrie-Amarynthos, l’objectif est de revenir sur les différents modèles proposés à ce jour et de montrer comment cette problématique spécifique s’insère dans une recherche plus large sur le paysage religieux. Pour ce thème, la période prise en compte va de la transition Âge du Bronze/Âge du Fer à la fin de l’époque archaïque.
Modératrice Sandrine HUBER, Université de Lille

9.00-9.30 Between Political Community and Ritual Landscape : Reflections from the Oxford History of the Archaic Greek World. Cathy MORGAN (University of Oxford)

9.30-10.00 Ephesos – A Sacred Landscape Changing with the Development of the City from the Early Iron Age to the Early Hellenistic Period. Michael KERSCHNER (Österreichisches Archäologisches Institut/ÖAW – Leiden University)

10.00-10.15 Discussion
10.15-10.30 Pause

10.30-11.00 Un réseau identitaire à plusieurs couches: dynamiques du paysage religieux de l’Attique sur le long terme. Lorenz BAUMER (Université de Genève)

11.00-11.30 Une kômè et un hiéron pas tout à fait comme les autres: Amarynthos dans les structures politiques de la cité d’Érétrie (de l’époque archaïque à la période impériale romaine). Denis KNOEPFLER (Collège de France)

11.30-12.15 Discussion finale de la session 3
12.15-12.30 Pause

12.30-13.15 Réflexions conclusives. Vinciane PIRENNE-DELFORGE (Collège de France)

Contact et information

La table ronde sera retransmise par visioconférence.

Website : www.esag.swiss/roundtable2023
Contact et information : roundtable2023@esag.swiss

Fondation Hardt, Chemin Vert 2, 1253 Vandoeuvres, Suisse (Google Map)

en
Thursday 24 November 2022

Round Table Reconstructing Greek Sacred Landscapes

Fondation Hardt
Vandœuvres
February 2–4, 2023

Round Table 2023 flyer

Reconstructing Greek Sacred Landscapes: Dynamics and Approaches from the Field

A sacred landscape is created by the spatial projection of relationships between human and supra-human forces. In the territory of a Greek polis, it is materialized by a set of places linked between them by mobility and visibility networks. A sacred landscape is also collectively devised, expressed, and put into action by stories and rites. Far from being congealed, the sacred landscape goes under continuous changes, like the mental and monumental constructs which compose it.

In the study of Greek religion, the sacred landscape has long been accounted for, yet without being designated as such. As a concept, it has received increased attention for over a decade. Thanks to theoretical approaches, its definition has gained substance, and several of its facets have been highlighted by case studies devoted to various regions and chronological periods.

However, reconstructing the sacred landscape of a Greek polis, in all its complexity, remains challenging. At the confluence of several disciplinary fields, the process requires the constant integration of various approaches. The present round table is designed with these issues in mind. Organized within the theoretical account of a research project dedicated to the polis of Eretria and its extra-urban shrine at Amarynthos, the round table is intended to open the discussion on this specific case by adopting a forward-looking perspective: we aim at finding a direct field of application through critical thinking on current approaches as well as new orientations and experimental methods.

The round table includes three sessions. The first is dedicated to literary and archaeological sources. The second wishes to explore existing or well-documented sacred landscapes in a comparative manner. The third session deals with a recurring issue: the relationship between politics and religion in the construction process of ancient Greek territories.

 

PROGRAM

Thursday, February 2


18.00-18.30 Welcome
18.30-19.00 Introduction
19.00-19.45 Keynote lecture. François DE POLIGNAC (École Pratique des Hautes Études, Paris)

 

Friday, February 3


Session 1. The Sacred Landscape between Literary and Archaeological Sources
One should ideally exploit the complementarity between literary evidence and archaeological data when reconstructing a sacred landscape. But what is left when literary sources are missing? Can archaeological survey fill in this gap? Based on the results of multiple survey projects in Greece, data of religious nature appears to be relatively discrete in the absence of monumental constructions. Is it possible to reorient research in order to overcome the low visibility of sacred places outside prominent sanctuaries?
Chair Karl REBER, University of Lausanne

9.00-9.30 Quel paysage religieux en Arcadie sans Pausanias ? Madeleine JOST (University of Paris Nanterre)

9.30-10.00 The Presence of the Sacred in Central Greece: The Evidence from the Boeotia Survey. John BINTLIFF (Leiden University)

10.00-10.15 Discussion
10.15-10.30 Break

10.30-11.00 Olympia and its Environs: The Development of a Sacred Landscape in the Light of the Recent Survey. Birgitta EDER (Österreichisches Archäologisches Institut/ÖAW)

11.00-11.30 Kalapodi and the Evolution of a Sacred Landscape in Ancient Phokis. Katja SPORN (Deutsches Archäologisches Institut Athens)

11.30-11.45 Discussion
11.45-13.00 Break

13.00-13.30 Recognizing Sacred Places in Southern Euboia. Towards a Reconstruction of the Sacred Landscape of Archaic and Classical Karystia. Jan Paul CRIELAARD (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)

13.30-14.00 A Sanctuary within its Landscape: The Eretria Amarynthos Survey Project. Sylvian FACHARD (University of Lausanne), Angeliki SIMOSI (Ephorate of Antiquities of Euboea)

14.00-14.45 Closing discussion of session 1
14.45-15.00 Break

 

Session 2. Current sacred landscapes
In polytheism, gods are everywhere. Because their topographical grounding leaves minimal traces, archaeology struggles to measure the phenomenon and account for it coherently. Therefore, it seems useful to compare our evidence with contemporary polytheist societies or related systems (such as the cults of saints in Christianism). This comparative approach should help us contextualize the ancient Greek landscape more acutely.
Chair Dominique JAILLARD, University of Geneva

15.00-15.30 Les paysages de la baraka : ruines, bornes et mausolées au Maroc. Romain SIMENEL (French National Research Institute for Sustainable Development, New Delhi)

15.30-16.00 Entre la forêt et l’Océan, le temple : le paysage religieux à Puri (Odisha, Inde). Raphaël ROUSSELEAU (University of Lausanne)

16.00-16.15 Discussion
16.15-16.30 Break

16.30-17.00 Byzantine Sacred Landscapes on the Move. Fotini KONDYLI (University of Virginia)

17.00-17.30 Late Antique and Medieval Religious Landscapes in the Area of Amarynthos. Myrto VEIKOU (Patras University)

17.30-18.15 Closing discussion of session 2

 

Saturday, February 4


Session 3. Polis Territories and Sacred Landscapes
Since F. de Polignac’s La naissance de la cité grecque, the role of sanctuaries in the making of poleis has been studied with great care. By putting in perspective several study cases, including that of Eretria-Amarynthos, our goal is to review the various models and show how this specific issue fits in a larger research agenda on sacred landscapes, from the Late Bronze Age/Early Iron Age transition to the end of the Archaic period.
Chair Sandrine HUBER, University of Lille

9.00-9.30 Between Political Community and Ritual Landscape : Reflections from the Oxford History of the Archaic Greek World. Cathy MORGAN (University of Oxford)

9.30-10.00 Ephesos – A Sacred Landscape Changing with the Development of the City from the Early Iron Age to the Early Hellenistic Period. Michael KERSCHNER (Österreichisches Archäologisches Institut/ÖAW – Leiden University)

10.00-10.15 Discussion
10.15-10.30 Break

10.30-11.00 Un réseau identitaire à plusieurs couches: dynamiques du paysage religieux de l’Attique sur le long terme. Lorenz BAUMER (University of Geneva)

11.00-11.30 Une kômè et un hiéron pas tout à fait comme les autres: Amarynthos dans les structures politiques de la cité d’Érétrie (de l’époque archaïque à la période impériale romaine). Denis KNOEPFLER (Collège de France)

11.30-12.15 Closing discussion of session 3
12.15-12.30 Break

12.30-13.15 Conclusive remarks. Vinciane PIRENNE-DELFORGE (Collège de France)

Contact and Information

The round table will be broadcast by video conference.

Website : www.esag.swiss/roundtable2023
Contact and information : roundtable2023@esag.swiss

Fondation Hardt, Chemin Vert 2, 1253 Vandoeuvres, Switzerland (Google Map)