2023 Program

The scientific program of the Swiss School in 2023 is provisional and subject to approval by the Greek authorities. It includes fieldwork as well as museum studies.


If you are a researcher from a Swiss university and wish i) to conduct fieldwork in Greece, ii) or to study, photograph or draw objects in Greek museums, storerooms or sites, iii) or submit such objects to scientific analyses, you should request that appropriate application for permission be made to the Greek authorities on your behalf by the Swiss School.

Information about permits


If you are interested in taking part in the activities of the Swiss School as a student, please read carefully the requirements and fill the appropriate application form (application for this year’s activities is closed, the deadline for next year’s program is the 31st of December).

How to apply

Museum studies

Various study seasons take place in the museum of Eretria all year long. Students learn how to determine, count, draw and photograph pottery from excavations.

A traineeship in conservation and restoration is also organized during summer.

Do not hesitate to apply.

April 17 – May 05, 2023
Geometric & Archaic pottery
Authority: Tamara Saggini (SNSF) & Samuel Verdan (ESAG)

May – June, 2023
Underwater research at Antikythera
>Shipwreck of Antikythera
Authority: Angeliki Simosi (EAE) and Lorenz Baumer (University of Geneva)
Antikythera project

(no internships available)

June 26 – August 04, 2023
Excavation in Amarynthos, Euboea
>Sanctuary of Artemis Amarysia
Authority: Sylvian Fachard (ESAG) and Angeliki Simosi (EAE)
Field directors: Tobias Krapf (ESAG – SNSF), Tamara Saggini (SNSF), Olga Kyriazi (EAE)
Amarynthos project

August 07 – September 01, 2023
Field survey in Amarynthos, Euboea
>Landscape and human occupation around the Artemision of Amarynthos
Authority: Sylvian Fachard (ESAG) and Angeliki Simosi (EAE)
Amarynthos project

September 11 – October 06, 2023
Excavation and survey at Aegina, Hellanion Oros
>Prehistoric site on Mount Oros
Authority: Stella Chryssoulaki (ΕΑΠΝ), Tobias Krapf (ESAG – SNSF)