Financer la recherche

Durant les dix-huit premières années de son existence (1964–1982), la Mission archéologique suisse, puis l’École suisse d’archéologie en Grèce n’a bénéficié pour assurer ses activités que du seul soutien financier du Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique (FNS).

Créée en 1983, la «Fondation de l’École suisse d’archéologie en Grèce» s’est chargée de la haute direction des opérations et de la recherche des moyens financiers indispensables auprès de divers donateurs: mécènes, fondations, industries et firmes, universités suisses, Académie suisse des sciences humaines et sociales (SAGW).

L’Université de Lausanne (UNIL), qui lui sert de siège en Suisse depuis 1982, joue un rôle déterminant pour son organisation.

Les principaux soutiens de l’Ecole sont, à côté du SNF, le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation (SEFRI), et les fondations suivantes: Fondation Stavros S. Niarchos, Fondation de Famille Sandoz, Fondation Isaac Bernheim-Dreyfus, Fondation Jacobs, Fondation Latsis, Fondation Théodore Lagonico, Fondation Afenduli ainsi que des firmes suisses actives en Grèce, comme Nestlé, Novartis, Roche, Triumph International. Parmi les mécènes privés, l’École doit une reconnaissance particulière à Monsieur et Madame Hellmut et Heidi Baumann.

Organisation de l'ESAG

Funding

During the first eighteen years of its existence (1964–1982), the Swiss Archaeological Mission, subsequently known as the Swiss School of Archaeology in Greece, relied on the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNF) as the sole source of financial support for its activities.

Created in 1983, the “Foundation of the Swiss School of Archaeology in Greece” assumed responsibility for high-level administration and for seeking indispensable financial income from various donors: patrons, foundations, industries and companies, Swiss universities, and the Swiss Academy of Human and Social Sciences (SAGW).

The University of Lausanne (UNIL), which has served as the Fondation’s headquarters in Switzerland, plays a crucial role in its organization.

The chief supporters of the School are, in addition to the SNF, the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI), and the following foundations: Stavros S. Niarchos Foundation, Sandoz Family Foundation, Isaac Bernheim-Dreyfus Foundation, Jacobs Foundation, Latsis Foundation, Théodore Lagonico Foundation, Afenduli Foundation as well as Swiss firms operating in Greece, such as Nestlé, Novartis, Roche, and Triumph International. Among the private patrons, the School owes a special debt of gratitude to Mr. and Mrs. Hellmut and Heidi Baumann.

Organisation of ESAG